Skip to Content

Three from BME receive Johns Hopkins Discovery Awards

July 10, 2017

Three faculty members from the Department of Biomedical Engineering have been selected to receive support this year from the Johns Hopkins University’s Discovery Awards program. Recipients include Steven Salzberg, Taekjip Ha, and Winston Timp.

Each project team is made up of members from at least two JHU schools or affiliates who aim to solve complex problems and expand the horizons of knowledge.

“This year’s proposals are a testament to the remarkable work of Johns Hopkins researchers across so many fields,” says Ronald J. Daniels, president of Johns Hopkins University. “Faced with a challenging landscape for federal funding, it is critical we support these cross-divisional teams and the impact of their creativity and discovery on our world.”

Cross-divisional teams involving faculty from the Department of Biomedical Engineering include:

Mapping Chromosomal Organization by single-cell in-situ sequencing

  • Jie Xiao (Medicine), Xin Chen (Arts & Sciences) & Taekjip Ha (Arts & Sciences/Engineering/Medicine)

Metagenomic Sequencing for Diagnosis of Infections

  • Steven Salzberg (Medicine/Public Health/Engineering), Carlos Pardo (Medicine), Charles Eberhart (Medicine), Cynthia Sears (Medicine), Patricia Simner (Medicine) & Karen Carroll (Medicine)

Resolving transcriptome architecture using single molecule direct RNA sequencing

  • Winston Timp (Engineering), James Taylor (Arts & Sciences/Engineering) & John Kim (Arts & Sciences)

Read more on The Hub

Click here to view the full list of award winners.

Category: Department, Faculty

Read the Johns Hopkins University privacy statement here.