Skip to Content

Casey Overby Taylor earn Johns Hopkins Catalyst Award

May 10, 2023
Casey Overby-Taylor

Thirty-seven talented early-career faculty members representing all nine academic divisions of the university will receive 2023 Johns Hopkins Catalyst Awards. Among the award winners this year is Casey Overby Taylor, associate professor of biomedical engineering and medicine.

Taylor’s research draws from biomedical informatics and the related field of biomedical data science, to address the challenge of how to incorporate technology and digital approaches into clinical research and healthcare practices. She also draws from comparative effectiveness research approaches, including experience with conceptualizing and measuring implementation outcomes, to study the use of clinical decision support as a strategy to improve the adoption of clinically actionable guidance.

“The freedom and the courage to pursue bold, transformative ideas for the greater good are the beating heart of the academic enterprise and our mission as an institution,” says Johns Hopkins University President Ron Daniels. “This year’s Catalyst Awards will once again support brilliant early-career faculty across fields and disciplines to follow their most audacious ideas wherever they may lead and them on a path for future growth here at Hopkins.”

The 2023 honorees—selected on the basis of their accomplishments to date, creativity and originality, and academic impact—will each receive a $75,000 grant to support their work over the next year. They also will have the opportunity to participate in mentoring sessions and events designed to connect these colleagues at similar stages in their careers.

The Catalyst Awards program was launched in early 2015, as was the Discovery Awards program for interdivisional collaborations. Together the two programs represent a $45 million university commitment to faculty-led research by university leadership along with the deans and directors of JHU’s divisions.

The Catalyst Awards program is open to any full-time faculty member appointed to a tenure-track position within the past three to 10 years. Faculty from across the university served on the committee that selected the awardees from a pool of 110 submissions.

This is the eighth year of the program, which has now recognized a total of 281 high-potential faculty from all divisions of the institution.

“Every year, we’re blown away by the innovation evident in the Catalyst Awards proposals,” says Denis Wirtz, JHU’s vice provost for research. “Our 2023 selections have charted plans for cutting-edge research and inquiry that we believe will propel their fields and Johns Hopkins into the future. We look forward to working with them as they reach new milestones that transform the trajectory of their careers.”

Learn more about all the Catalyst Award winners on the Hub.

Category: Faculty
Associated Faculty: Casey Overby Taylor

Read the Johns Hopkins University privacy statement here.