News & Events

Student highlights

May 19, 2011

CER grants Technology Fellowship Award to BME PhD Student

Xiaoxu Kang, a BME PhD student, has been awarded a Technology Fellowship Award in value of $5000 from JHU’s Center for Educational Resources (CER). Xiaoxu’s grant is to design a complete Java e-library including natural language processing, algorithms, and data structure to enhance classroom teaching in the Information Extraction course.

Read on.

April 25, 2011

BME scores several 2010 PURA grant awardees

BME junior Millie Shah was one of several BME students receiving a 2010 Provost’s Undergraduate Research Award. Lloyd Minor, provost and senior vice president for academic affairs, hosted the annual PURA ceremony on April 12 honoring the achievements of the student researchers. Millie’s research, titled “Computational Modeling of VEGF and sFlt-1 to Stimulate Preeclampsia and […]

Read on.

April 7, 2011

Christopher Smith awarded UNCF/Merck Graduate Science Research Dissertation Fellowship

Christopher L. Smith, a PhD candidate from Murfreesboro, TN, has received a 2011 UNCF/Merck Graduate Science Research Dissertation Fellowship. The fellowships help African American graduate students complete coursework, conduct research, and prepare the dissertation required for a doctoral degree in the biomedically relevant life or physical sciences. Christopher is conducting a collaborative project with primary […]

Read on.

Lichy Han wins Goldwater scholarship

Lichy Han, an undergraduate who will be entering her senior year in the fall, has been awarded a Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship. The scholarships are awarded to outstanding undergraduate students, known as Barry M. Goldwater Scholars, who have outstanding potential and intend to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering. Lichy is from […]

Read on.

March 28, 2011

Brent Millare awarded National Research Service Award

Brent Millare, a second-year BME PhD student in Dr. Natalia Trayanova’s lab, has been awarded a National Research Service Award (NRSA) from NHLBI. The award will support his project “Metabolic/Electrophysiological Model of the Heart Under Ischemia/Reperfusion,” which aims to address the ways in which coupling between metabolic and electrophysiological processes in the whole heart contribute […]

Read on.

October 31, 2010

Undergrads’ “intelligent” surgical drill takes third at Collegiate Inventors Competition

An “intelligent” drill developed by Johns Hopkins students to improve orthopedic surgical procedures was awarded third-place honors in the undergraduate division of the 2010 Collegiate Inventors Competition. The team received $2,500 in prize money for its entry, which was among five finalist projects competing Oct. 27 at a Washington, D.C., ceremony. The device can be […]

Read on.

The Rapid Hypothermia Induction Device includes an air tank, a pouch containing a pressure regulator and control mechanism, and two nasal prongs that are inserted into the nostrils.

September 30, 2010

BME student Design Team wins first-place innovation prize

A brain-cooling invention that could improve the survival prospects for cardiac arrest patients has won a $10,000 first-place prize for a Johns Hopkins undergraduate team at the National Collegiate Inventors and Innovators Alliance’s annual BMEidea Awards. In the contest, judges from academia and industry evaluated entries for their ability to solve clinical problems, and for […]

Read on.

July 1, 2010

Two students win AHA predoctoral fellowships

Two BME graduate students have been awarded highly competitive American Heart Association (AHA) predoctoral fellowships. Kshitiz Gupta of Dr. Andre Levchenko’s lab and Jason Bayer working in Dr. Natalia Trayanova’s lab were among a select group of awardees in the Mid-Atlantic region. Bayer has a B.S. in Bioengineering from Syracuse University and an M.S. in […]

Read on.

May 13, 2010

Paliwal honored at Young Investigators’ Day

Saurabh Paliwal, working in Dr. Andre Levchenko’s lab, received the Bae Gyo Jung Research Award at the Young Investigators’ Day Program on April 15th, 2010. Young Investigators’ Day celebrates and recognizes the work of graduate students and postdocs in the School of Medicine. The awards are named for former Johns Hopkins students and well-respected former […]

Read on.

Deok-Ho Kim

April 30, 2010

CBID team wins Wharton Business Plan Competition

The CBID Masters team Cortical Concepts won the Michelson Grand Prize in the prestigious Wharton Business Plan Competition. Team leader Stephanie Huang and team members Jason Hsu, Christopher Komanski, Evan Luxon and Nicolas Martinez developed a device to strengthen fixation of screws in osteoporotic spinal bone, avoiding the pain and expense of revision surgery to […]

Read on.