News & Events

Faculty highlights

June 21, 2013

Dr. Jeffrey Siewerdsen is promoted to Professor

Jeffrey H. Siewerdsen has been promoted to Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Read on.

April 24, 2013

Dr. Michael Miller receives Excellence in Teaching Award!

BME Professor Michael I. Miller, Ph.D. has been selected to receive the Capers and Marion McDonald Award for Excellence in Mentoring and Advising

Read on.

February 4, 2013

Dr. Rachel Karchin receives National Science Foundation ABI grant

Rachel Karchin, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, BME and ICM, is awarded a $695,000 grant from the National Science Foundation Advances in Biological Informatics program.

Read on.

January 17, 2013

Dr. Fijoy Vadakkumpadan awarded W. W. Smith Charitable Trust Grant

Dr. Fijoy Vadakkumpadan has been awarded a $100,000 Heart Research Grant from the W.W. Smith Charitable Trust. Funds will be used to further Dr. Vadakkumpadan’s research on an alternative to clinical arrhythmia inducibility tests.

Read on.

December 4, 2012

Dr. Jordan Green named 2012 Maryland Outstanding Young Engineer

Jordan J. Green, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering and the Wilmer Eye Institute, JHU School of Medicine is honored by award from the Maryland Academy of Sciences and the Maryland Science Center.

Read on.

Dr. Fijoy Vadakkumpadan awarded AHA National Scientist Development Grant

The American Heart Association National Scientist Development Grant was awarded to Dr. Fijoy Vadakkumpadan of the Institute for Computational Medicine and the Department of Biomedical Engineering.

Read on.

September 26, 2012

Dr. René Vidal receives IAPR J.K. Aggarwal Prize

Associate Professor René Vidal has been awarded the 2012 J.K. Aggarwal Prize for technical contributions of far-reaching significance and impact on the field of pattern recognition or its closely allied fields.

Read on.

July 27, 2012

Sridevi Sarma receives PECASE Award

Sridevi Sarma, Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering has been selected to receive the 2012 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) at the White House later this year.

Read on.

July 18, 2012

Jordan Green selected to participate in NAE 2012 Symposium

Jordan Green, Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering is among 78 of the nation’s brightest young engineers selected to participate in the National Academy of Engineering’s (NAE) 18th Annual U.S. Frontiers of Engineering Symposium. Dr. Green will collaborate with engineers ages 30–45 from industry, academia and government in the event being held on September 13–15, 2012 […]

Read on.

May 23, 2012

Eileen Haase is Pond Award winner

Eileen Haase is the 2012 recipient of the Robert B. Pond, Sr. Award for Excellence in Teaching. This award is given for commitment to and excellence in instruction in the Whiting School of Engineering, success in instilling the desire to learn, and dedication to undergraduate students.

Read on.