News & Events

Faculty highlights

December 10, 2010

Spector elected as ASME Fellow

Alexander Spector, Research Professor in Biomedical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering was elected as a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), the major association of researchers, engineers, and educators working in the mechanics area, including a significant and growing number of members working on biomedical applications. Election as a Fellow recognizes significant engineering […]

Read on.

September 30, 2010

David Yue wins prestigious Cole Award from Biophysical Society

BME professor Dr. David Yue has won the 2011 Kenneth S. Cole Award presented by the Membrane Biophysics Subgroup of the Biophysical Society. The Kenneth S. Cole Award is given to an investigator who has made a substantial contribution to the understanding of membrane biophysics.

Read on.

September 20, 2010

Popel to speak at international conference

Aleksander S. Popel, Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Director of the Systems Biology Laboratory at the Johns Hopkins University, is a keynote speaker at the First International VPH Conference (VPH2010) organized by the Virtual Physiological Human Network of Excellence, in Brussels, Belgium, September 30 to October 1, 2010. The Virtual Physiological Human Network of Excellence […]

Read on.

April 28, 2010

Grayson is Outstanding Young Engineer

Warren L. Grayson, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering has been named 2010 Outstanding Young Engineer by the Maryland Academy of Sciences and the Maryland Science Center. This award, along with its counterpart Outstanding Young Scientist award, is conferred to recognize and celebrate the extraordinary contributions of young scientists and engineers in Maryland and […]

Read on.

Thakor recognized as outstanding alumnus of IIT Bombay

Nitish Thakor, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering has been named a 2010 Outstanding Alumnus of the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, the school where Dr. Thakor earned his undergraduate degree. Awarded each year during the annual Foundation Day celebration, the Distinguished Alumnus Award is the highest honor the Institute bestows on its alumni.

Read on.

February 1, 2010

Trayanova recognized by AHA

Natalia Trayanova, Professor of Biomedical Engineering and a William R. Brody Faculty Scholar, has been selected as a Fellow of the American Heart Association. Fellow status recognizes members who have realized exceptional professional achievement and leadership within the American Heart Association and is regarded as the most distinguished level of the Society.

Read on.

Mac Gabhann named Krogh Young Investigator

The Microcirculatory Society has named Feilim Mac Gabhann, Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering, as an August Krogh Young Investigator for 2010. The award is named for the 1920 Nobelist in Physiology and Medicine who studied the delivery of oxygen to tissues by capillaries. Using a combination of experimental and computational approaches, Dr. Mac Gabhann studies […]

Read on.

November 10, 2009

Tsui wins IEEE award

Dr. Benjamin Tsui, the director of medical imaging physics in the School of Medicine’s Department of Radiology who also has a secondary appointment in BME, just earned the prestigious IEEE NPSS and NMISC Edward J Hoffman Medical Imaging Scientist Award at the 2009 IEEE Medical Imaging conference. The award is based on the impact and […]

Read on.

October 20, 2009

Trayanova is WSE’s first Brody Faculty Scholar

Natalia Trayanova, professor of biomedical engineering and researcher in the Institute for Computational Medicine, has been named the Whiting School of Engineering’s first William R. Brody Faculty Scholar. Faculty Scholars are named for a three-year term and provide exceptional faculty with flexible financial support to promote their research, teaching activities, and entrepreneurial thinking. Natalia’s award, […]

Read on.

August 27, 2009

Sarma is recipient of Career Award for Scientific Interface

Sridevi Sarma, an assistant professor of biomedical engineering in the Institute for Computational Medicine, is the recipient of a Career Award for Scientific Interface from the Burroughs Wellcome Fund. The Career Award for Scientific Interface is intended to foster the early career development of researchers with backgrounds in the physical, mathematical, and computational sciences whose […]

Read on.