News & Events

Faculty highlights

February 1, 2010

Mac Gabhann named Krogh Young Investigator

The Microcirculatory Society has named Feilim Mac Gabhann, Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering, as an August Krogh Young Investigator for 2010. The award is named for the 1920 Nobelist in Physiology and Medicine who studied the delivery of oxygen to tissues by capillaries. Using a combination of experimental and computational approaches, Dr. Mac Gabhann studies […]

Read on.

November 10, 2009

Tsui wins IEEE award

Dr. Benjamin Tsui, the director of medical imaging physics in the School of Medicine’s Department of Radiology who also has a secondary appointment in BME, just earned the prestigious IEEE NPSS and NMISC Edward J Hoffman Medical Imaging Scientist Award at the 2009 IEEE Medical Imaging conference. The award is based on the impact and […]

Read on.

October 20, 2009

Trayanova is WSE’s first Brody Faculty Scholar

Natalia Trayanova, professor of biomedical engineering and researcher in the Institute for Computational Medicine, has been named the Whiting School of Engineering’s first William R. Brody Faculty Scholar. Faculty Scholars are named for a three-year term and provide exceptional faculty with flexible financial support to promote their research, teaching activities, and entrepreneurial thinking. Natalia’s award, […]

Read on.

August 27, 2009

Sarma is recipient of Career Award for Scientific Interface

Sridevi Sarma, an assistant professor of biomedical engineering in the Institute for Computational Medicine, is the recipient of a Career Award for Scientific Interface from the Burroughs Wellcome Fund. The Career Award for Scientific Interface is intended to foster the early career development of researchers with backgrounds in the physical, mathematical, and computational sciences whose […]

Read on.

May 20, 2009

Yue honored for teaching skills

While professor David Yue is rightly honored for the groundbreaking work in his lab, his students believe his work in the classroom is equally worthy of praise. “He transforms his lectures into something like a thriller movie — you don’t want to miss a second of it,” one student says. Dr. Yue was honored with […]

Read on.

April 13, 2009

Shadmehr team awarded grant from international science organization

Reza Shadmehr, along with a team of colleagues from four other countries, has been awarded a grant from the Human Frontier Science Program. The grant in the amount of $450,000 per year for three years will support the team’s research on the topic “The multiple timescales of motor memory.” Human Frontier awardees assemble an international […]

Read on.