Awards and achievements


September 22, 2011

The Siebel Scholars Foundation announces 2012 Siebel Scholars

Three graduate students in the Johns Hopkins Department of Biomedical Engineering were selected as Siebel Scholars recipients. The Siebel Scholars program recognizes the most talented students at the world’s leading graduate schools of business, bioengineering, and computer science. With the 2012 class of Siebel Scholars, 85 new scholars join an ever-growing, lifelong community of leaders. This years recipients included:

Manisha Aggarwal, Baltimore, MD  |   Mentor: Dr. Susumu Mori
Thesis:   Longitudinal Characteriza of Brain Atrophy in Mouse Models of Huntington’s Disease Using in Vivo Magnetic Resonance Imaging

Hannah Carter, Louisville, KY  |   Mentor: Dr. Rachel Karchin
Thesis:   Computational assessment of somatic missense mutations detected in tumor sequencing studies with Cancer-specific High-throughput Annotation of Somatic Mutations (CHASM)

Suneil Hosmane, DeKalb, IL  |   Mentor: Dr. Nitish V. Thakor
Thesis:   Innovative Technologies to Study Mechanisms of Axonal Degeneration

See previous year